The Last Hawaiian Beach!

Standard

3 October 2017.

The end of my first trip to Hawaii! That morning, a few others from the first week in Kona were also leaving. After a final breakfast, half the house said our see-ya-laters and we parted ways. Sad!

I had about 2-3 hours to do any last minute touristy shopping, fill up the gas tank, return the Renegade at the car rental place, and check into the airport. I decided to skip the shopping (So many sea turtle and plumeria themed things! I wanted them!) and go indulge in one last beach instead.

Manini’owali Beach was close to the airport so I decided to go there. (723990 Mamalahoa Hwy)

It was hot, about 90 degrees Farenheit. I had worn my bathing suit but I knew I shouldn’t go in the water, otherwise I would have a damp towel and clothing for a 13 hour flight back to Boston. That would not be ideal.

So tempting. I love white sand beaches! :D

Okay I went in a little bit. :D

And gripped my phone tightly in case it decided it wanted to go swimming too.

At the airport (which is all outdoors!), there was a couple I had met scuba diving that was on my same flight! The woman’s name was Celeste and she was so chatty and warm and invited me stay with them in Ventura, California, because she knew I wasn’t crazy. “Well, a good kind of crazy, at least,” I laughed. We exchanged contact information, stories of our trip, and photographs. She also told me about how one of the other divers was going to create a video of our dives with the manta rays. See: Scuba Diving entry for photos and video!

So this concludes the blog about this trip to Kona. There’s so much to to do on the Big Island! I loved it and would recommend it wholeheartedly. I was very happy also to have a Kona family too.  We’re all very fortunate to Dave and Jeanette in our lives. They are such wonderful people and hosts! :) <3 I’m glad we’re friends! :D (THANKS DAVE AND JEANETTE FOR HAVING US!!) We made a “thank you” video. :)

We had such a fantastic experience! Hiking volcanoes, green sand beaches, sea turtles and black sand beaches, stargazing the Milky Way, white sand beaches, a luau, waterfalls, getting close up to lava flows, all the meals and silliness together, AHHH! SO MUCH FUN! And a rather epic house too. :D

Until next time! Aloha! :D

Speak your mind