Loy Krathong in Koh Lanta!

Standard

November 17.

Loi Krathong is a festival celebrated annually throughout Thailand. The name could be translated “Floating Crown” or “Floating Decoration”, and comes from the tradition of making buoyant decorations which are then floated on a river. Loi Krathong takes place on the evening of the full moon of the 12th month in the traditional Thai lunar calendar. – Wikipedia

The festival is most incredible in Chiang Mai, which was in Northern Thailand. Everything was going to be very expensive and booked out by the time I learnt about this festival so I stayed in Koh Lanta.

Loi means ‘to float’, while krathong refers to the (usually) lotus-shaped container which floats on the water. Krathong has no other meaning in Thai besides decorative floats, so Loi Krathong is very hard to translate, requiring a word describing what a Krathong looks like such as Floating Crown, Floating Boat, Floating Decoration. – Wikipedia

The Chill Out House had a decoration-making activity. I didn’t partake. I wanted to buy a floating lantern and let one loose. A songthaew was organized for everyone.

It was a fun ride.

At the municipal area, there was a platform to release your floats. It was too windy for them to stay lit.

Mmm, what can I eat? I found some (poorly cooked) market pad thai.

Andrew found POPCORN!!!

YUM. I’d been craving popcorn the other night. I hadn’t had any in ages.

Add Loy Krathong in Chiang Mai to bucket list!

(borrowed from Wikipedia)

One response »

  1. It’s on my bucket list too and actually my fb cover lol. I would love to join you in Chiang Mai (or anywhere, really) one day ^^.

Speak your mind