Peace Lantern Festival in Hiroshima!

Standard

August 6.

“In the evening, there is a lantern festival, where over 10,000 lanterns are put into the water next to the A-bomb memorial and across the river from the steps in front of the information center. The evening activities are less formal, there are no long speeches, but it is a very powerful experience. As the light from the dome shines down on the water lit by the many colorful lanterns floating downstream. There are also candles decorated by children lit and displayed all the way around the Atomic bomb memorial building. ” – Japantourist.jp

After the morning’s Peace Memorial Ceremony and other events, Noyuri departed. When travel buddies leave, I usually want to leave as well but I forced myself to stay.

I had an hour or two until sunset. I sat along the river to watch the lanterns pass.

Noyuri’s crane gift from lunch <3

Another day.

There were unofficial paper lanterns in the water as well.

Paper lanterns floating under the T-shaped Aioi Bridge, which had been the target of the atomic bomb.

Atomic Bomb Dome. It had once been a magnificent building.

5 responses »

      • I’m currently in Southern California; I live outside of Los Angeles, in Orange County. I’ll be visiting Japan in a month but won’t be going back to Hiroshima on this trip. Hopefully, I’ll get to go on a future visit. Thanks for your reply!

  1. Pingback: The Eighth Month! | V for Vacay!

  2. Pingback: Peace Lantern Festival in Hiroshima! | jkmhoffman

Speak your mind